2012 in a Word (or 3)…

Warning:  This gets a tad philosophical!!

A lot of people seem to be adopting a ‘word’ for their year. A motto, a reminder that keeps you focussed when times get crazy-busy, or you seem to be floating along getting no-where.  This got me thinking about my word for 2012.  There are so many words to choose from! Focus, Achieve, Plan, Action.  Nope.  None of those.  What about Love, Laughter, Fun, Joy, Happiness?  They are great words, but they aren’t really what I was after.

So I asked myself some questions, such as:

  • What went well in 2011?
  • What did I let go in 2011?
  • What should I have let go of in 2011, but didn’t?
  • What was I most grateful for in 2011?
  • What was really crappy in 2011? (this ended up being a big list)

Then…

  • What do I want from 2012?
  • What do I want to achieve in 2012?
  • What do I need to do to achieve what I want in 2012?

In thinking about these questions, I really have to consider the constraints within which I have to live.  What are my constraints?  The usual: time, money, energy.  But when I really thought about it, my only constraint is that Richard & I both need to work full time to do the things like pay the bills, mortgage, school fees, etc as well as hopefully have a family holiday.  Oo, and maybe renovate the house.  Actually, I think that is asking too much!

Given that I do work full time, have 3 gorgeous boys, a half renovated house and lots of art, writing, photography, craft & gardening projects that I want to achieve, as well as spending time with family & friends, my word hit me (a bit like a tonne of bricks).

BALANCE

I need to maintain balance.  This is something only I can do.  I can’t rely on others for it, and I can’t blame lack of it on work, family life etc.  I need to manage it and control it.  I need to be conscious of it all the time.  Part of this balance is meeting work commitments and ensuring I get what I need out of work to enjoy it (and get paid), but on the flipside, always be there for the boys, spend as much time with them as I possibly can, as well as assisting them with what they need for school (I think Max going into year 7 will be a big year for ALL of us).

How can I do this?  Another word to back it up I think…

Well the next word I have is:

SLOWLY

Slow down, take time, enjoy being in the moment rather than always planning for the next thing, the next day or the next week.  I am always planning (which I do need to do to be organised), but I do need to remind myself to enjoy the moment.  I have made Sunday a no-go day (though it will prob end up with a soccer game in the mornings).  This means that we don’t plan anything on a Sunday, don’t go anywhere unless it is a little family activity, don’t rush from place to place.  We take a breath, we catch up and we chill-out.

This is backed up by one more word…

My third and last word is:

GRATITUDE

I need to be grateful for what I have.  Being grateful makes you appreciate what you have, see the value in what you have, and be happy with what you have.  This is a lesson I need to remember, and also try and get through to the boys – it is hard to be happy if we aren’t thankful for what we already have.

So, before I start sounding like a self-help column, my three words that I will need to remind myself of throughout 2012 are:

Balance

Slowly

Gratitude

These are just words, I know, but I need to use them to keep me on track!

And for my little crew below, I am grateful (and I haven’t forgotten Richard – I am grateful for him too but he isn’t in the pic!).

One comment

Leave a Reply

