The moment is now…

2012 is full of revelations for me.  I don’t know if it is because I am nearly 40 (in 6 days…eek!) and so much wiser, or if it is because I am just really slow and am only now just getting it!  Whatever the reason, I have had another revelation.  My last one was ‘Life is Long’.  See here to read more about that one.  This one is…

Live in the moment

I am a planner, always looking forward, always lamenting that I am not doing what I want to be doing, but planning to do it later in the day, tomorrow, next week.  I never chill out and enjoy what I have right now.  No matter what I am doing I am always thinking what else I SHOULD be doing.

Then SMACK…my revelation hit me…live in the moment, enjoy the now…

I don’t think it is just me.  I think many people (particularly girls…ok, women…but I’m still just a girl ok) are always thinking what they should be doing or planning what they are doing next, rather than enjoying what they are doing right now.

And I think that because I am always thinking about what I SHOULD be doing that I forget to enjoy what I am doing right now.  Sound familiar to anyone?

Living in the present is a whole shift of mind set for me, and it is taking a bit of work and effort to remind myself to enjoy the now.  Specially when I have my cranky pants on and just can’t wait for the day to end.

But I can only make change in the ‘now’, not in the past or the future, only the now.

And you know what helps to remind me to living in the moment, and enjoy the now?  Life is long, and the future will come.

Aah, you know, it must be because I am nearly 40 (so close to 40 in fact!) that I am so wise….

Leave a Reply

