As time goes by…

Wow, time has flown (I feel like all my blog entries are time based…).  I can’t believe we are mid-May already!  I feel like this year has just begun, but Christmas is such a distant memory.  How does that work?

A quick recap of the last couple of months…

Soccer season started for Arch – this is his first real group activity he has taken part in.  We seem to have gotten past him not wanting to go and complaining about it, to having him actually looking forward to it.  I look forward to it too.  It is so nice to see him running around and be able to cheer him on, while also catching up with friends and neighbours in the process.

Ed broke both his wrists and had both arms in plaster – well that was a learning experience on so many levels, both physically and emotionally.  I cannot even begin to tell you. The plaster time was a long 5 weeks for Ed & I, but seemed to go quickly for everyone else.  Fancy that!

I realised I was the only person on the planet that didn’t know you cannot do contact sports for 6 weeks after plaster comes off.  We are nearing the end of that 6 weeks thankfully, and Ed can get back into soccer and skate boarding.

Ed & Arch are starting to really settle into their new school.  Ed has been invited to a new friend’s house, and he has had the same friend over to ours.  Ed has really missed his friends from his old school, so it is really nice to see him start to make some real friendships.

Max has settled into year 7 so beautifully, it is gratifying to see that decisions you have made and were worried about have paid off.

Have had a close family member diagnosed with Cancer.  The words that come to mind (in order of appearance) are shock, devastation, worry, hope, strength and pride. I think the force of the shock and devastation that hits you with a diagnosis such as this in a niece or nephew took us all by surprise and still brings a lump to my throat when I think about it. Now, as his treatment begins we just want to wrap him up in a blanket of support and care for the next 6 weeks.

Ed and I put two photographic pieces each into a Photography Exhibition.  It was good to force myself to get back into it, even though I knew my pieces were nothing special.  I will work towards doing something better for next time.  Ed on the other hand SOLD both his pieces.  While it is true that his Grandmother bought one, we don’t know who bought the other one – it is someone we do not know nor are related to!! Ed was so excited.

I have joined a Fine Art Photography Group.  We meet once a month and are working towards an exhibition in November. It is so motivating to get together with a group of like-minded people.

I have started a project that I think I may actually finish!  Yes, that is a first.  I am crocheting a blanket. I sound like a grannie I know.  And it actually isn’t that cost effective.  Will probably cost $125 and take most of Winter to make, but I will end up will a handmade pure wool blanket that I have enjoyed making.  Just in time for Summer…

I found this website today:

http://www.marcandangel.com/2012/04/19/30-life-enhancing-things-in-30-minutes/

I think I am going to try and do one of these things from this list each day for the next week and see how I go. You should give it a go too.

Leave a Reply

