Life is always greener on the other side…or is it…..

I read this quote this morning….

 

You must deal with the world the way it is, not the way you wish it was.  Think positive.  Life is good.  Too many people miss the silver lining because they’re expecting pure gold.  Positive thinking isn’t about expecting the best to always happen, but accepting that whatever happens is the best for the moment.  So keep smiling and keep following your heart.  Someday, life will get tired of upsetting you.

http://www.marcandangel.com/2012/10/05/9-things-every-inspired-person-should-know/#more-507

 

And I decided to keep it as a reminder.  I go through so many phases with inspirational quotes.  Mostly I don’t ‘need’ them, but sometimes one will pop into my mind as a gentle reminder to appreciate what I have.  Usually it is a tragedy that makes you hold those that you love close to you, so I do try to not need a tragedy to remind me to value and be grateful for those that I love and for what I have.

But the quote I read this morning….this is a good reminder for me.  I get so frustrated that I am not having the perfect life I wanted.  I am always looking for more, something different, something shinier, newer, tidier, and fully renovated (that applies to my house and my life!!).  Always looking for ‘gold’.  Though I have a sneaking suspicion that if I ever do get that life that I picture in my mind, I will be unhappy with that too!

Don’t get me wrong.  I am not a miserable person that wallows in unhappiness. Quite the opposite actually.  But the image in my mind never matches the reality.  A bit like the person in the mirror never matches the beauty that I imagine as myself!

So instead of wishing for a different life that where I have a better house, more money, more time, and better hair and no wrinkles, I need to appreciate the life I have.  The life with cracked walls, scratching money together to pay bills, toys strewn everywhere and wrinkles. Because after all, it’s not that bad, and if I can’t get ‘gold’, I am more than happy with ‘silver’.

Philosophical enough?

Anyway, life can’t be that bad, because I am off to Ikea now!!

Leave a Reply

