tick tock…..

Have you ever read an amaze-balls life changing book that makes you really think about life, and value what you have?

Me too!  But the problem is that I just can’t ever remember what that line was that made me go WOW.

When I have read an amazing line where I think “that’s incredible, that’s life changing….I must remember that”…And before I finish the page I have forgotten!

I can tell other people about how great the book is, and how amazing it is…but I can’t remember why.

Well, I read one of those books yesterday.  A girl at work lent it to me and I read it in one day (when I had a sick day from work – food poisoning – yuk).

You may have even read it.  “The Timekeeper” by Mitch Albom.

There were so many brilliant lines and messages that I wanted to remember.  And because I know myself well, knowing that I would forget, I have gone through the book and written them down!

Now, if you haven’t read it, you can guess that it is about ‘time’. Time is a precious commodity.  People want time to go faster, go slower, wish they had more, wish they had less, want to pack more into the time they have, want time to stretch ahead of them, some people want to live forever and have unending time, and some people want their time to be up.  But time is the one thing that none of us can change.  As we all know, time marches on second by second, minute by minute, hour by hour.

So what gems did I glean from this book?  I am glad you asked….

 

“…Time is not something you give back.  The very next moment may be the answer to your prayer.  To deny that is to deny the most important part of the future…..hope…”

 

Do you like that one?  I do. I have more….

 

“Ends are for yesterdays, not tomorrows.”

 

How about this one…

 

“…with endless time, nothing is special.  With no loss or sacrifice, we can’t appreciate what we have…”

 

I do love that one.  Here’s another…

 

“There is a reason why God limits our days”

“Why?”

“To make each one precious.”

 

I am guilty of this next one…

 

“There was always a quest for more minutes, more hours, fast progress to accomplish more in each day.  The simple joy of living between sunrises was gone.”

 

Be assured… “no-one owns time”…doesn’t matter how rich you are!!

 

And lucky last…

 

“When you are measuring life, you are not living it”.

 

How’s that for gems?  These are things I need to keep reminding myself. Be in the moment rather than always planning for another time.

Love it!  Be warned.  I am now starting to read “Happier at Home” by Gretchen Rubin, the author of “The Happiness project”.  I have read her first one and I got so much out of that book…I just wish I could remember what it was!

Leave a Reply

