There is time…

I worry that I am getting old, and that my time is over, that I’ve missed the boat for many things that I want to do or achieve in my life.  Yes I do understand that this sounds ridiculous at 41 years of age.  But, in my defence, whilst I would love to do something like learn a new skill, do a dance class, learn an instrument, go back to Uni and finish my Fine Art degree, I feel that I can’t because I work full-time to contribute to mortgage, school fees and life in general.  I am not complaining about this, but that is the way it is.

And not just that.  I spent a lot of time and effort to get a Degree and Masters.  I want to put that to good use. I don’t want it to be a wasted effort.

But I have been given hope…

At work today I had the pleasure of attending a morning tea for a woman who is retiring.  She would like to keep working, but she has battled serious illness and cancer for the last 2 years, and has decided she wants to live life while she can, smell the rose and spend time with family. She is going to Antarctica in a couple of days time for 2 weeks and then travel to Chile and Argentina for the next 4 weeks. Brilliant.  She is incredibly knowledgeable and quite an amazing and inspiring person. As a Chaplain and a Counsellor, she has had such a positive impact on people’s lives, and even going as far as being life changing to some people.  Not many people can claim that! She is retiring after a very significant 21 years with our organisation.

So how old do you think she is?

She is 71!  That means she started her time at my work when she was 50.  This was a career and life change for her.  And as for the 71, I would have sworn she was only 60.  So maybe there is time for me yet.

I think I need to focus more on enjoying where I am, rather than trying to always rush to be somewhere else in my life. There will be time…

Again, a reminder that life is long, enjoy where you are rather than always looking to the next place to be…

That’s about as philosophical as I get!

3 comments

  1. How is it that you always have the same thoughts going on in your head as I do in mine?! Plus, how do you find the time to write such profound pieces whilst working full time and trying to get your eldest off to camp?!! x

    1. We must be so similar Caroline! I think we are ready for camp…maybe…I am sure they will survive regardless of what we have forgotten. You know how I get through? I just keep telling myself, breathe in for 3 and out for 6….I think I have that breathing pattern going all day and it keeps me going/together!!

Leave a Reply

