Wrong end of the stick…

Sometimes I really wonder about my view on the world.  Am I looking at it the wrong way?  Am I looking at the world through the wrong end of the binoculars? Or am I just wearing rose coloured glasses?

I was telling a friend and her hubby how I would love to not work.  Really??…they said.  What would you do?….  Well, as a stay at home Mum I would help my kids with their homework of course, then I would paint, I would sew, I would take photos, I would write.  I would renovate and do all those things that I don’t have time to do now.

You don’t want to be a stay at home Mum, my friend’s hubby said.  You want to be retired.

Oh my god.  He was right.  What a revelation.  I want to be retired!  Hmmm…..

My kids go to a Christian school, so I meet my end of the bargain and go to church occasionally.  A girlfriend of mine is studying to be a minister (of the church kind) and is starting a contemporary service.  I was telling my sister that about it and was saying that I didn’t want the kind of modern church service where there is a rock band aka Hillsong style (ugh), but where you could sit around, have a glass of wine, relax and talk.

You don’t want a contemporary service, my sister said.  You want a book club.

Oh my god. She was right. I want a book club!

Though I did start a book club once.  We all read the book.  We met at my house.  We drank heaps of wine and didn’t even discuss the book.  Perfect!

So really, when I think about these things I THINK I want to do, am I wearing rose coloured glasses? And what if I get to do the things I really want, such as being a stay at home Mum, and I really did have it all wrong???

More philosophical pondering…it might require another glass of wine, a good book, and of course thoughts of planning my retirement…you never know…I might find the answer to what I am looking for at the church service!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
3 comments

  1. Susan, these aren’t things you THINK you want to do, they are things that you have had stored away for years and it would be great for you to have the time to do them. XO

Leave a Reply

